My answer to the title of this post is: No.

I don’t know if this video is telling the truth, but it sounds right.  If you know it to be false, let me know.

Pending the validity of the main points of the video, many of the arguments in favor of a mosque at the Manhattan site take on a different meaning.

Let’s make the assumption that this group of Islamists is truly peaceful and wanting nothing more than a place to worship.  That is a big stretch since they already have a Mosques in Manhattan and have had for many years.

My vote would be against siting a mosque anywhere near Ground Zero.  In fact, if I were part of the group making the decision to site the mosque, I would have voted agains it for a number of reasons.  First, siting a mosque there is the immoderate thing to do.  It is an ‘in-your-face’ move, at the very least to those who lost friends or loved ones on September 11, 2001.  Second, I would have counseled the group to wait a generation before considering a site so close to the ‘twin-towers’.  If nothing else, it will remind non muslims of the event and the part a religion played in the event.  Neither of those reminders is good for the image of muslims.  Neither encourages tolerance or peace.  Third, from a practical point of view, they will not get cooperation in getting the work done, will have problems with security and vandalism, and will find it very expensive, if not impossible to get insurance on the building.  Fourth and probably the heart of my objection to the site is that such a move does not show Muslims or their Religion to be peaceful.  It would be like a guy walking down the street trying to pick a fight by flipping off every passerby and then saying he was doing it to make peace.

In short, I think it is a dumb move to place a mosque there and if I were muslim, I would communicate that to my leaders.  If I were a New Yorker, I would demand that my government deny permits to build the Mosque.

If you want to see the best reasons why we should not allow an intolerant religion to build a “house of worship” near Ground Zero, see this video from PJTV’s Bill Whittle – well worth the time.  (Hat tip to my blogger friend Steven over at Skalduggery.com for leading me to the video).

