June 14 is Flag Day.  It was established to commemorate and remember the adoption of our National Flag by the Second Continental Congress on June 14, 1777.

I know there is much debate over the value and result of patriotism, nationalism, statism, etc.  Many believe that it is patriotism and/or nationalism that is the cause of most wars (I disagree but that is another post entirely).  I also know how lucky I am to have been born in the United States.  People from very few places have the freedoms or the opportunities afforded those born under the ‘stars and stripes.’

I guess that one reason I am so opposed to our current Congress and our current administration is that they appear to have little respect for three of  the things that I think have made our nation the most successful and beneficent yet known to man:  1. the level of individual freedom and, in particular, freedom from government intrusion and control, that American’s enjoy;   2. the freedom from oppression or even fear of attack by others which is provided by our Military when led by responsible leaders;  3.  A Constitution which, left unchanged, guarantees safeguards from the oppression of our own government.

On days like Flag Day, I like to reflect on the many blessings we receive just for having been born under the stars and stripes.  Do you ever consider what your life would be had you been born in Myanmar or North Korea or Uganda.

I am reminded of the song written by George Cohan, “She’s a Grand Old Flag.”

She’s a grand old flag,
She’s a high flying flag,
And forever in peace may she wave.

She’s the emblem of,
The land I love,
The home of the free and the brave.

Every heart beats true,
For the red, white, and blue,
With never a boast or a brag.

Should old aquaintence be forgot
Keep your eye on the grand old flag.

