The word CRISIS comes from the Greek,  krisis “turning point in a disease.”  I feel we are now at a point of crisis.

Over the weekend, I wrote two posts and decided to let them sit until today so I could reconsider what I wrote.  It turns out both were unworthy of posting here.  Both were angry and overly biased.  They were angry because I was, and still am, upset about all the deceit coming from the Administration and the Congress about the Obamacare plan.  I respect the office of the President but the current holder and the team he has assembled are not acting Presidential.  I cannot put it any better than did Shikha Dalmia at Forbes.com (note – the bold emphasis is mine):

“Egged on by the progressive punditocracy, Democrats are behaving as if, once they jam ObamaCare through, nothing else matters. It’s like they’ll never have to worry about being the minority party in need of constitutional checks and balances.
A sensible president would of course step in and provide some adult supervision to a wayward party hell-bent on jumping off this cliff. But the problem is that President Obama believes in his own messianism too deeply for that. His goal is not to remake his party as it could be but “remake this world as it should be.” In his book Dreams From My Father Obama gives the distinct impression that his gifts are too great for the smallness of our political stage. He regrets not having been born during the civil rights era when the grandness of the cause would have measured up to the grandness of his ambition. He is in search of something big that will allow him to make his mark on the world as Abraham Lincoln and Martin Luther King did. Hence, the defeat of ObamaCare would not just be par for the course in the rough-and-tumble world of politics for him. It would be sign of his ordinariness, his mortality, and that, to him, is unendurable.”

I am still concerned that there will be enough arm twisting, special favors, and outright bribes to get the votes needed to pass Obamacare. I have yet to hear an argument in favor of Obamacare that is not based on emotion over substance.  I am convinced that the cost projections are, at the very best, wildly optimistic.  I also think the American people do not want this bill and don’t trust the people who want to force it upon us.

I think that either way, pass or fail, this will mark a true turning point in our nation’s history.  My hope is that it will be a turn to reaffirm the Constitution and start to pull government back from its overreaching habit.

