I was awakened this morning at 3:30 a.m. by a faulty fire alarm at my home.  The noise was deafening, and, disorienting.  Entering the passcode did nothing.  I ended up having to remove the smoke/fire detector from the ceiling.  That did nothing to stop the noise so I ended up cutting a wire – all this while 125 decibels were ringing in my ears.

When I tried to go back to sleep for an hour until my regular alarm would go off, it was no use.  I laid in bed, my mind spinning from the noise, the surprise, and the relief that it was not due to a fire.  My thoughts kept going back to the Health Care issue and how the Democrats achieved a 60 vote total to pass the measure to the floor for a vote.  I kept thinking about a President who was again forcing a measure through to passage without allowing time for consideration, understanding, or debate.  That is the same President who promised on numerous occasions that every bill would be published on the internet for review and comment for five days before he would sign it. That is the same President who now rationalizes his (almost) every action today with the ‘end justifies the means’ excuse.

I kept thinking about Senator Ben Nelson who sold his soul for a few hundred million dollars.  I thought about the other 59 Senators who voted for a bill because of pressure or greed or power.  I don’t think one of them voted for it because they thought it would result in less expensive, more available, better managed health care services, as they had promised.  I thought of the Senate, a deliberative body, not deliberating the issue, but only the prizes each “yes vote” would bring and the punishment that would come with each “no vote.”  I was frustrated and am still.  I was disappointed and am still.  I was disgusted, and am still, at the lack of integrity and the lack of courage shown by most, if not all, of those who voted for this measure.

How could a Senator promise to make health care more affordable and then vote to make it more expensive?  How could a Senator claim to help reduce our deficit and then vote to spend more on pork to pass a bill that will increase the deficit?  When I think of rationalizing actions that a person knows to be wrong, I always think of Mr. Clinton saying he “…did not have sex with that woman…”   It must be easier to lie to yourself when you lie to the public on a regular basis.

I wonder if it might have helped to read each member of Congress a favorite poem.  Maybe one of them would have seen him or herself in the mirror and done the right thing.

The Man in the Glass  –  Author Unknown

When you get what you want in your struggles for self

And the world makes you king for a day,

Just go to a mirror and look at yourself

And see what that man has to say.

For it isn’t your father or mother or wife

Whose judgment upon you must pass,

The fellow whose verdict counts most in your life

Is the one staring back from the glass.

Some people might think you’re a straight-shooting chum

And call you a wonderful guy.

But the man in the glass says you’re only a bum

If you can’t look him straight in the eye.

He’s the fellow to please, never mind all the rest

For he’s with you clear to the end

And you’ve passed your most dangerous test

If the guy in the glass is your friend.

You may fool the whole world down the pathway of years

And get pats on the back as you pass

But your final reward will be heartache and tears

If you’ve cheated the man in the glass.


