Mr. Obama’s words in normal text – interpretation in italicsinterpreting

“We can’t afford the politics of delay and defeat when it comes to health care,” (If we don’t get this done quickly, people will have time to see what this legislation will actually do, as opposed to what we are telling them it will do, and it will never stand a chance of passage.) Obama said after meeting with doctors, nurses and other health care workers at Children’s National Medical Center. “Not this time. Not now. There are too many lives and livelihoods at stake.” (My job is at stake.  The lobbiests for the Pharmaceutical Companies who gave $   to my campaign will lose their jobs.  The lobbiests for the Health Insurance Companies who gave $   to my campaign will lose their jobs.  The Union bosses who gave $   to my campaign will lose their jobs.)

“I can’t cover another 47 million people for free. I can’t do that. We’re going to have to find money from somewhere (that would be from taxes, Mr. President, or, do you plan on robbing banks?  Oops, already did that, didn’t you?).”  (Doesn’t the 47 Million number include somewhere between 10 and 20 million illegal aliens?  Does that mean we get to pay for the healthcare needs of illegal aliens with our taxes?  Even if the Senate Democrats had not defeated the Republican amendment that would forbid paying for insurance for illegals, it won’t be an issue after all current illegals are given amnesty in the next big legislative push that we will see.)

“I think that we’re going to have to have some system (government controlled, of course) where people can buy into (pay more taxes to be part of) a larger pool. Right now their pool typically is the employer, but there are other ways of doing it. I would like to — I would hope that we could set up a system that allows those who can go through their employer to access a federal system or a state pool of some sort. But I don’t think we’re going to be able to eliminate employer coverage immediately (as much as I want that to happen). There’s going to be potentially some transition process. I can envision a decade out or 15 years out or 20 years out where we’ve got a much more portable system. Employers still have the option of providing coverage, but many people may find that they get better coverage, or at least coverage that gives them more for health care dollars than they spend outside of their employer. And I think we’ve got to facilitate that and let individuals make that choice to transition out of employer coverage (like for example, we could make it almost impossible with the restrictions we impose on them,  for employers to keep their grandfathered plans).”

“So we’re going to have to put some money in on the front (we will run a deficit for the first many years, at least). I think that we can by making the system more efficient, get a lot of money out of the system and use that to help subsidize workers who have it and to improve the efficiency of the system. I haven’t yet made a decision in terms of how much additional money is going to be needed to meet my goal of ensuring that universal health care exists in this country within six years. I can tell you that I will do whatever it takes (any amount of money since it is just taxpayer money), because I think over the long-term it’s good for families (at least for my family and Joe Biden’s), it’s good for business, it’s good for the country. So I have not foreclosed the possibility that we might need additional revenue (I won’t confirm the need for increased taxes until after my plan is signed into law) in order to achieve my goal, but I think we shouldn’t underestimate the amount of money that can be saved in the existing system.”

Ask your Member of Congress and your Senators the 20 Questions, then ask yourself the following:

Which is more important to those who push for massive healthcare reform in the form of a government controlled industry, the reform or the increase in the size of the government?

Why was it urgent to legislate before the start of the Congressional August Recess?

Is it possible that unlimited tort law pertaining to medical issues has led to higher Medical Care Costs?  If so, why are these things not addressed in current proposed legislation?  Could it have something to do with trial lawyers and the power of their lobby with the majority in Congress?

Is it possible that all the government mandated coverage (that must be in any healthcare insurance plan) could have increased the cost of healthcare insurance?  Is it possible that a more free market medical insurance would save most Americans considerable money on their health insurance?

Do you think a Government run Healthcare System will be run as efficiently as Prohibition or the War on Poverty or the War on Drugs?

Does it make sense to actually study the problem before just turning it over to bureaucrats in Washington?  I do.


