HC4allin09Noted Writer and Editor, Dorothea Brande once penned, “A problem clearly stated is a problem half solved.”

I’m not sure I have yet read anything coming from Washington, D. C. that clearly states the Healthcare problem in the United States.  At least I have not read anything that convinces me that we need a massive Government Intervention to solve the problem described.  It seems that the politicians point out different problems with our healthcare system depending upon who their audience is and what their objective is in pointing to problems with healthcare..

The first issue I hear described as the problem is that not everyone has access to healthcare.  The above picture shows a large group of people who have obviously concluded that this is the problem.

Next most often, I hear that Healthcare in America is too expensive

Third on the list (my list, my opinion) is American Healthcare emphasizes fixing problems rather than preventing them.

The Quality of U.S. Healthcare is falling is the next problem I hear.

Fifth on the list is, Access to Healthcare is tied to employment.  If you lose your job, you lose your healthcare.

6th is , ‘if you are sick, you can’t get health insurance.’  If you have a preexisting condition, the insurance companies won’t insure you.

Next, the Health Insurance Industry has injected huge costs into the system to support their profits.

8th is, Medical Malpractice lawsuits.  They are driving up the price of liability insurance for Doctors and therefore driving up the price of healthcare for all Americans.

‘The quality of care is dependent upon how much money you have,’ is a problem I hear.

Tenth (this is as far as I will go) is that ‘undocumented aliens are utilizing the system in a way that increased costs for all of us.’

We need to reduce this list to a clear statement of the problem.  Then we will be able to evaluate the costs and benefits of the different proposed solutions.

Can anyone give me a clear statement of the Healthcare Problem?  Just post a comment with your statement of the problem.  If I don’t get one in the next few days, I will take my stab at it in a coming post.

