Sonia Sotomayor has been nominated by President Barack Obama to replace David Souter on the Supreme Court.  I hope we will all learn a great deal about her from the press over the next few weeks.  I also hope that the clip below is not representative of her true views.  If it is, I think our Court is in more trouble than it is today.  Her statement that the Supreme Court and the Appeals Courts are where “policy is made” should disqualify her for the office to which she has now been nominated.  

Clip of Sotomayor  

She has also made some unwise statements that make her look like a racist, for example, in a University of California Speech in 2001, she said, “I would hope that a wise Latina woman with the richness of her experience would more often than not reach a better conclusion than a white male who hasn’t lived that life.”

If these two items are taken out of context, and I hope they are, she needs to set the record straight.   I also want the press to do a thorough job of vetting her.  I believe neither is taken out of context and I also think the press will, only reluctantly, hounded by bloggers and talk radio, do their job and inform us of her qualifications or lack thereof.

