Am I the only one who found that a strange thing for the President to say?

In answer to the question about why he didn’t show outrage at the AIG bonuses for days, President Obama responded, “because I like to know what I’m talking about before I speak.”  Really?

How does this square with rushing a “stimulus bill” through Congress and then signing it immediately, without even giving anyone time to read it?  Or how about Mr. Obama’s emergency rush on the Omnibus Appropriations Bill that was also signed before there was time to consider the 9000 earmarks?

I think saying “because I like to know what I’m talking about before I speak” was, at best, a shot from the hip without the aid of a teleprompter.  It sure came across to me as disingenuous.  I think it was a very crafty politician carefully studying the public reaction and then calculating how best to use the situation to his advantage.  Like they say in the Obama Administration, “Never waste a crisis.”  

Where is the change we were promised?  This is pure and simple politics-as-usual in my book.  Maybe the change is that we are getting more of it.

